Facebook is one of the giants of the social media world. In fact, there are more users on Facebook than any other social networking sites today.
While it is true that Facebook has helped people reach out far and wide, there are certain things that make people quit this social media platform without any hesitation.
In this post, you will know the reasons for people to quit Facebook and how you too can do it.
Why quit Facebook?
There are many reasons for quitting Facebook. After interviewing a number of people, we have found these to be the most common reasons for people to quit Facebook.
One of the most common reasons people give for quitting this social media platform is that it is a major waste of time. You don’t even realize how much time you waste on Facebook before its too late. People who understand this fact, make efforts to get rid of the habit of using Facebook constantly or stop using it altogether.
Facebook is one of the most addictive social media platforms. A lot of teenagers have become addicted to checking out their Facebook news feed constantly.
With all the notifications, teenagers get constantly drawn to their cellphones and it becomes really hard for them to focus on their studies. Those who realize this, decide to quit Facebook or deactivate their accounts temporarily.
Everybody wants to get appraisal. It is one of the most common human needs. Facebook appears to be a place where people feel important. However, they forget that social media is a virtual world and any amount of appraisals on this platform is not worth more than the appraisals that are received in the real world.
People crave for recognition on Facebook. So much so that they buy Facebook post likes just to make them appear worthy.
What happens when you buy Facebook post likes? Your post appears worth checking out. But, is it actually worth it? Not much.
Eventually, when you figure out that feeling important on Facebook is nothing like feeling important in the real world, they decide to say quits to Facebook.
How to quit?
If you are someone who has decided to quit Facebook for sometime or for the long run, here are the ways that you can do it. But first, let me explain the difference between deactivating your account and deleting your account from Facebook.
Deactivating a Facebook account gives you the option to reactivate your account whenever you want. On the other hand, deleting a Facebook account is a serious matter as you won’t be able to recover the account once it gets deleted. There is, however, a grace period once you request account deletion. If you log in to your account during this period, your account gets reactivated.
Steps to deactivate your Facebook account:
What happens when you deactivate your Facebook account?
Other users won’t be able to view your timeline, profile and photos. They can still see the messages you sent them and view your name on their friends’ list.
Steps to delete your Facebook account:
What happens when you delete your Facebook account?
You won’t be able to recover your Facebook account after 30 days of initiating the request.
Facebook has been growing rapidly for the past many years. While this growth is expected to continue for years to come, Facebook is not in denial that every day a lot of users are quitting the platform due to various reasons.
Will Facebook be able to keep people from leaving the platform? Only time will tell.